First Stirrings

IMG_6218-Edit-Edit

I love taking mundane photographs and spicing them up with effects in Photoshop, Gimp, or now, Lightroom. I feel that it is experimentation on my part, as well as it is because of laziness. I don’t want to donate huge amounts of time towards perfect angles and lighting, as I prefer to get the best results for the least amount of effort. This often turns my photographs into something more than just a picture, but almost a work of art.

IMG_6218-Edit

IMG_6218-Edit1

IMG_6218-Edit2

I created these wallpapers based on a shot I took by spinning around with a very low shutter speed. It created a very milky texture, which lends well to a wallpaper in that a wallpaper’s goal is not to distract, but add to the experience of using your device. I thought that I could add some cool effects to it to create a wallpaper.

The red and the cyan are polar opposites, representing evil and good. The mathematical sign for equality was used as a relaxing inward bevel because with equal red and blue, it creates equilibrium. These traits are not to be thought of as a deep and insightful, rather they are meant to either be a part of a Gesamkunstwerk, an idea of integration of many art forms into single work popularized by Richard Wagner, or are supposed to ease the mind (weather that works I don’t know, but I felt like this statement needed another option).  I think it would be a cool to build on this concept in later projects; it could be combined with musical compositions, literature, philosophy, science, and history.

The first one turned too much into a flag (France, perhaps?) and was not what I had envisioned, but the success of the two after that was uncanny to my thoughts of what it ought to be.  The first one is equally divided to represent the idea that it is impossible to have a positive and not have an equal negative (except for monopoles, but my point still stands).  It looks like it is trying to hard to represent something, but ends up just being a mundane piece that, in my opinion, goes almost nowhere.  It also seems to be trying to hard to frame something that really just isn’t there.

Beauty.  This is what works for a photo, something that can both act as something that can be given attention as equally as it being absent.  The lack of quickly apparent complexity creates a piece that will lay groundwork for my style.

This third piece uses the “cells” for no reason other than what the idea arbitrarily pulled out of a hat, unless you thing that you know me better than I know myself.  Do I think it’s perfect?  No. I think that it could have equal distribution of cells across the map, but that wasn’t something easily remedied.  Do I think that it is sufficiently nice?  Yes. It fits very well with what a wallpaper should be–an addition, not a distraction, although the cells do distract some compared to the even gradient of the previous piece.  Also, you shouldn’t place icons in the area of the cells because it may make the icons unreadable.

Ta Da!  There you go.  A nice collection of wallpapers, created by using a low shutter speed.  Fun.

Do I like these pieces?  Yes.  Do I think they could get much better?  Yes.

Note:  It says that it was published on the 13th, but it actually was four minutes before the 13th.

One thought on “First Stirrings

  1. For this post, it was all about learning the camera and the settings on the camera. Showing that you tried different shutter speeds and apertures, and even ISOs. While I really like what you have, and I do as it shows slow shutter speed, there is not the other camera settings shown in the post to show that you are really playing with the camera to get to know it.

    Again, I really like these images, they are visually interesting and hold my attention to look at them more and more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

