Panorama and Friends

When I took photos at the Roman Nose Lakes, I took photos to make a panorama of the first lake.  I forgot about this until mid-week this week when I was looking for ideas on Digital Photography Studio.  It turns out, though, that I did not need to use those directions.  I used these directions instead: directions.

Doing this, I was amazed by the magic of Photoshop.

For the first step I used the steps outlined in the directions to automagically generate a panorama.  This is what I got out of it:

Screen Shot 2015-10-21 at 9.25.35 AM

I used the Adaptive Wide Angle function to correct the fisheye look it had.  This function is really amazing.  It almost does exactly what I want.

Screen Shot 2015-10-21 at 9.28.16 AM

This is what I got as output:

Screen Shot 2015-10-21 at 9.28.55 AM

I then tried to use the content-aware fill function, with full knowledge that it probably won’t work.  This is what it got:

Screen Shot 2015-10-22 at 9.13.49 AM

It tried, but it didn’t know what the peak of the mountain looked like, so it could only guess.  If, like in the tutorial, it was only generating weeds, it would’ve probably done it quite well, but generating a peak was impossible.

Once I got all the desired settings, obviously doing color adjustments and using unsharp mask, I cropped the photo.  It came out quite well, even with the pictures not being that good.

Panorama1

I did find what I think is a flaw:

Screen Shot 2015-10-23 at 8.58.21 AM

I have no idea what happened to that little area right in the center, but it happened.

After going through it, I decided I didn’t really need to do the adjustments that were shown in the first link.  I couldn’t even find an area to try the method shown on.

It’s nice to see the full view of the lake in this panorama.  I am fairly happy with it.

 

Last weekend I went hiking on Mt. Coeur d’Alene.  It is not a very difficult hike, but it does have a fair bit of uphill.  It has a few small views of Lake Coeur d’Alene.  Overall it is a pretty nice hike.

IMG_6376_01

I saw this view of the trees and I thought that this had to be captured.  The sun lightening up the tips of the branches mingling with the blue sky and the dark depths of the forest are very pleasing.  Overall, it is quite a nice shot, with lots of detail.

IMG_6388_01

At the peak of Mount Coeur d’Alene there was this derelict cabin made of some type of metal.  Even though it is quite ugly and bullet-riddled, it had to be captured.  The off-angle shot provides a more dynamic view of it.  It was a cool cabin, but is sucks that people shot it up with shotguns.  Why?

IMG_6391_01

This shot did not happen the way it was intended.  In my eyes, the trees were more exposed than what was captured.  The trees in this shot are silhouettes, with very little detail, while the sky is filled with detail.  It has a lot of contrast and is divided up almost equally between light and dark.

IMG_6402_01

When the sun was starting to set I decided I would take a bokeh.  It turned out quite nicely.  It looks calm.

IMG_6403_01

I took another.

IMG_6410_01

I also took the time to take a few shots of the lake and the low mountain vistas beyond where I was.  I quite like how dark the trees are in contrast to the sky.  The lens flair is a nice touch to the shot as well.

IMG_6417_01

IMG_6429_01

I love how there is very little detail other than the darkness besides the small view of the lake.  It gives an amazing contrast which leads my eyes further into the darkness until, finally, there is light.

IMG_6436_01

I was waiting for someone and while I was waiting, I looked up, to find an amazing view of a yellowing larch.  From any other view it might not look so cool, but a view from below has a sort of majesty.  The tree trunk also leads the eyes through the image.

I rather enjoyed hiking this mountain and it was quite pretty.

Leave a Reply

