Lincolnish Movie Poster

For this week in class we mimicked real movie posters.  I decided to do the Lincoln movie poster.

For this I decided I would try taking a picture of someone without a beard and adding one in Photoshop.  To do this, I consulted this: http://www.quantumbooks.com/technology/graphic-design/tutorial-create-facial-hair-photoshop-video-text/

I started out with this shot, only having done minor edits such as sharpening and turning it black and white.

IMG_6453_original

I then started to slowly add hair to his chin, making sure to add a layer every time I needed to make sure that the previous revision could be used if I messed up.  I slowly added in slightly different shades using the brush that they used in the tutorial, often sampling his own hair color until I got a fairly natural result.  I also changed various brush preferences, though I mostly just changed the jitter settings.

By the end of it I had all these revisionist layers of beard:

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 9.22.56 AM

Then, after taking a further look, I realized that it still needed some changes.  I used the blur and sharpen tool to make the beard fit more naturally with the depth of field of the photo.  I also added some noise so that it would be more imperfect to be more realistic.  By the end, I had this:

IMG_6453

That looks pretty darn good.  It still is a little off, and really the linked tutorial was really only for adding a few hairs, not adding a full, luscious, Lincoln-esque beard.  By the time I was done, I had spent more than three days on it.  It really was quite fun to do this Photoshop magic, but man was it tedious.

Then I decided to move on to match the all-white background in the real movie poster.  Because of his curly hair it is really hard to cleanly get a selection going around him.  So, as any wise man with an internet connection would do, I searched it out on Google.

I found this tutorial: http://www.photoshopessentials.com/photo-editing/selecting-hair/

It got me to this point:

Screen Shot 2015-10-30 at 9.23.25 AM

which was looking quite good, and then the period ended.

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

