Stuff and Things…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hey guys!  This week I worked on a few different things, some of which won’t be on this blog post.

Last weekend I took photos at the Cougar Bay Nature Conservancy.  I was able to get some pretty nice photos, even though on my laptop screen they are showing up horribly.  Anyway, I went through some of them, doing some nice touch ups, but that is not what I really want to show to you guys.

IMG_6471 IMG_6472 IMG_6473 IMG_6476 IMG_6477 IMG_6478 IMG_6479 IMG_6480 IMG_6481 IMG_6482 IMG_6484 IMG_6485 IMG_6486 IMG_6487 IMG_6488 IMG_6489 IMG_6490 IMG_6492 IMG_6493 IMG_6494 IMG_6495 IMG_6496 IMG_6497 IMG_6498 IMG_6499 IMG_6500 IMG_6501 IMG_6503

 

Anyway, this was basically what I did last year except that, well, I tried it again.

Link: https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/how-to/turn-photo-into-painting.html

I did it to the best sunset one I had.  Before this, though, I increasing the shadows to basically pitch black.  This lets the focus be on the sky rather than having detail everywhere, detracting from the intended focus.  I used the Palette Knife tool and turned up the saturation.

Here it is:

IMG_6498

 

There is also this really cool abandoned bulldozer there at the Nature Conservancy.  I decided to try it on one of the shots of it

IMG_6464

Then, I tried blending them together to get this interesting arrangement:

IMG_6464_1

 

I like it.  It almost seems like it is summarizing the Nature Conservancy.  It seems to have a little mystery, too, with the faint red sunset showing right above the trees and mountains.  Really a rather cool piece.

 

Also, I am currently working on colorizing this photo of Wallace, Idaho from the fire in the 1890s:

using this: http://www.tutorialized.com/tutorial/Colorize-a-black-and-white-photo-using-Gimp/78944

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

