Split-Toning Chilco and the Lost Man

Last Saturday I went hiking on the Lost Man Trail and then on Sunday on Chilco Mountain.

I recently decided that I would try to learn some GIMP.  I found a nice, easy tutorial for doing split-toning in GIMP:

http://gimp-tutorials.net/GIMP-split-toning-tutorial

I tried it on this photo, taken at a viewpoint on the Lost Man Trail, which eventually leads down to the Mineral Ridge National Recreation Trail:

 img_6507

I used the colors given in the tutorial, and without any hiccups, here is what I got:

img_6507

It gives an interesting effect, although I would say that the non-split-toned one looks better overall.  I then decided to try it on this image of what I found out is Pixie-cup lichen that I found growing on a tree stump in the lush rainforest of Chilco Mountain:

img_6521

I used the two colors #466009 and #191512 for this split-toned edit and here is what I got:

img_6521

I don’t really like this split-toning on this image, so I decided to stop trying split-toning on other images.  At least it got me to learn some more GIMP.

Okay, I lied.  I tried split-toning on the image below of Pend Oreille from Ferragut State Park, a relatively short drive from Chilco Mountain, too, but I liked the effect even less, so I decided to not even show it.  I decided to try another tutorial:

http://www.gimp.org/tutorials/Blur_Overlays/

on it,

img_6646

I wasn’t convinced of the results, but when I did the steps where I applied a Gaussian blur, duplicated the image, and used the  Colors -> Threshold tool, I found that I really liked the look of the thresholds output:

Threshold

I thought of using an overlay blend mode on top of the blurred and brightened layer and I really like the result:

img_6646_final

I then thought that I could make it look a little more “natural” I could apply a degree of Gaussian blur to the overlayed layer.  This was the output:

img_6646_init

It think it looks really cool this way.  It seems to evoke a sense of majesty, the ether, and mystery.

I was able to get good photos on Chilco Mountain other than the tree stump, but I have no major edits made on them, so they aren’t worth showing.  I did however learn from the dark forests of the mountain that HDR would be helpful.

Leave a Reply

