Light Painting

I was lost on what I should do for this blog post, so this one took awhile.  I had to do searching for good “at home photography projects”.  I came upon light painting.  After doing some searching I was inspired by Dave Black and Janne Parviainen.

For these photos, except for the first four, I used an LED pen and I mostly stayed at an aperture of f/8.0.

IMG_8002 IMG_8003 IMG_8004 IMG_8005

For the images above I actually set my camera to a 30 second shutter and let it capture the light from the passing cars.  I love how the patterns repeat throughout the images.  The blurred light around much of the sharper light streaks adds a feeling of motion.

IMG_8011

I like the way this has a sort of leading lines aspect to it.  It feels mysterious.

IMG_8012

I didn’t expect to get one that looked this cool.  I was trying to draw a circle, but I got this amazing structure instead.

IMG_8013

This one is boring, but worth looking at and realizing that sometimes things don’t always work out with light painting.

IMG_8025 IMG_8026 IMG_8027 IMG_8028 IMG_8029 IMG_8031

For these I was inspired by this.  I was out in the middle of prairie and saw a fire hydrant that interested me and I thought it would be a cool subject.  When I was doing some of the exposures I accidentally pointed the pen at the camera too directly, resulting in something unintended, but really cool.  Some of the light patterns almost look like little snakes on the hydrant.  I love how the lighting looks irrational.  It doesn’t make sense, causing intrigue.

I would like to do this more and I would ultimately like to try something like what Janne Parvianinen does.  I’d also like to try doing infrared light painting.

Leave a Reply

