Multiple Flash Photography

For this assignment we did multiple flash photography, although the assignment was really called multiple exposure photography, though that seems to be a misnomer.

Most of these were done by firing the speedlight manually without any connection to the camera.  When taking these photos I set had a small aperture to minimize any out of focus parts I’d get from not being able to predict things such as where a ball is going to bounce.

 

This was just a first test.  It looks eerie, but it doesn’t have enough contrast for my taste.

IMG_8201_v1

This one worked out pretty well.  It is not very obvious that this used the multiple flash photography method, but it still is pretty cool.

IMG_8204_v1

I decided that I’d try to get guitar movements.  I knew that it would show motion really well.  I thought that I’d try picking patterns first, but none of those turned out, so I thought I’d do the fretboard.  These were “jazzed up” with more constrast, which made them look much better.  With these it actually looks like I’m playing rapidly.

IMG_8215_v1 IMG_8216_v1 IMG_8218_v1

My goal in this whole thing was to get a shot of the pattern of a bouncing ball.  I finally figured out how to set the speedlight to fire to a certain frequency, but I still wasn’t able to capture it.  These are what I got.

IMG_8229_v1 IMG_8230_v1 IMG_8237_v1

After that I decided to see what I could get with my feet

IMG_8240_v1

Leave a Reply

